look…

look  ไม่ได้แปลว่ามองหรือดูเพียงอย่างเดียว  เพราะนอกจากจะใช้เป็นคำโดดๆแล้ว ยังสามารถนำ preposition หรือ particle มาเติมได้ หรือที่เรียกว่า  กริยาวลี  (Phrasal verbs หรือ two-word verbs) นิยมใช้กันมากในภาษาอังกฤษ ทั้งในภาษาพูดและภาษาเขียน  ให้เกิดคำใหม่ ทีมีความหมายเปลี่ยนไปจากเดิม

look after = ดูแล

When my sister goes on vacation, I look after her dog

look back on = มองย้อนกลับไป

When I look back on my childhood, I often feel angry.

look down on = ดูถูก

She’s so conceited. She looks down on everybody else.

look for = ค้นหา

I’m looking for my keys. Have you seen them?

look forward to = ตั้งตาคอย

I am looking forward to traveling to New York next year.

look  into = ตรวจหา สืบสวน สอบสวน

The police are looking into the murder.

look out = ระวัง

Look out, there’s a black widow spider on the wall.

look over = ตรวจตรา

When I’m camping, I look my shoes over before I put them on.

look up =ค้นหา

I takes time to look up new vocabulary words.

look up to = ยกย่อง

He looks up to his father.